Saturday, September 27, 2014

#TeenYA #BookReview - Linda Buckley-Archer's The Gideon Trilogy

The Gideon Trilogy 

3 Books - The Time Travelers;  The Time Thief;  

The Time Quake

5.0 out of 5 stars Tired of Your Tweens and Teens Reading Vampires & Werewolves?

If you have been with us since the "The Time Travelers" you may recall that book one in "The Gideon Trilogy" ends with a bang!!! Just as Peter & Kate are about to return to their own time with Kate's father Dr. Dyer, Peter is thrown aside by the 18th century villain "The Tar Man".

...and Book Two picks up the story with the Tar Man learning to work with technology to further his evil goals and raise him to a position in society that he could never have attained in the 1700's. Meanwhile, Kate takes matters into her own hands and goes back to rescue Peter and ends up taking his father back in time with her.

...unfortunately, the coordinates are changed and they end up going back to an England where Peter has lived and grown to manhood.

In Book Three - The Time Quake it all comes to a head...with not one but two of the best villains I've read in awhile!

First - Lord Luxon and his attempt to manipulate a key point in history...his plot - the growing effect of the time quakes brought about by use of the anti-gravity machine. Kate takes on the role of an Oracle able to see the future as her tie to the physical world grows more tenuous each day; experiencing the "fast forward" effect more and more and is finally reduced to binding herself to Peter, who she realizes is her "ground."

...and Second "the Tar Man" who's decision in the end will determine whether the time quakes splinter the world.

Each sequel was even better than the last book and if this ever hit the big screen it would give Harry Potter and Twilight a run for the money!!! SHHHHH - don't tell but, Time Travel teaches history!

From Amazon:
In 1763 Gideon Seymour, thief and gentleman, hides from the villainous Tar Man. Suddenly the sky peels away like fabric and from the gaping hole fall two curious-looking children. Peter Schock and Kate Dyer have fallen straight from the twenty-first century, thanks to an experiment with an antigravity machine. Before Gideon and the children have a chance to gather their wits, the Tar Man takes off with the machine, and Peter and Kate's only chance of getting home. So begins the saga of Gideon Seymour, The Tar Man, Peter Schock and Kate Dyer. Book One lays out the foundation of the possibility of Time Travel. Stuck in 1763 London is a challenge without all the modern conveniences. How will Kate, a strong-minded girl from the 21st century, cope with what is expected of a young maiden in 1763? Will Peter ever forgive his father and find a way home? What has the Tar Man done with the machine? Book Two finds Peter stuck in 1763 while Kate is desperately trying to find a way to get him home. Kate begins to suffer from side effects of time travel. Meanwhile, the Tar Man is wreaking havoc in the 21st century as he found a way to use the time machine for his own personal gain. Will Kate get Peter back? Can Gideon stop the Tar Man before changes time? The final book 3 has both Peter and Kate stuck in 1763 after creating yet another time machine to try and get Peter home. Now time is splintering due to too many changes brought about by the greed of Lord Luxon, the master of the Tar Man from 1763. This brings in the question of possible parallel worlds. Can 2 worlds exist at the same time? What will happen to Peter and Kate's world if changes continue? Can the Tar Man and Lord Luxon be stopped? What will become of Gideon? The possibility of time travel has always been an inspirational mystery for many writers. This complete set of 3 books addresses several questions and some seemingly plausible answers. There is on-going adventure and excitement on every page.

No comments:


Related Posts with Thumbnails